Electricity in Senior Classes

This month in Science we are exploring Electricity.

We are fortunate to have a good range of equipment for electricity topic, however it was all contained in one box. I took some time out this week to reorganise the box with the help of small plastic tubs and ziploc bags. Once all the bulbs, batteries, battery holders were sorted and packaged. I set up tubs for my class to use. Each tub contains everything you need to make a simple circuit using a light bulb and a buzzer. It also contains different materials to explore conductors of electricity.

We started with simple circuits with lightbulbs and explored the idea of conductors using the materials in the tub. Next week I hope to introduce making a switch. In Art we will be busy making dioramas and then I hope to add to our diorama by adding an electricity element, a door bell or a light switch. I will add photos to my page as they progress.

If you are looking to add to your resources for electricity check out craftpacks.co.uk. I ordered some resources from them during the Summer for Science. I think they are very reasonable. You will need to use a Parcel Motel or Address Pal account to make the ordering process easier. But their delivery service is very quick. Check our Craft Packs here.

If you would like further inspiration for the Electricity topic I have designed step by step instruction cards with photographs. I am also making cards to add to the children’s tubs so they can reorganise them quicky and easily. These will be available as a bundle on Mash.ie soon.

As always if you have any questions please send me a PM.

A.M.

Leave a Reply

